The blessings of heresy

This post forms part of a synchroblog, “Emerging Heresy”. For other contributors, see below.

Now I’m just a scullery etymologist (someone interested in words) but right up front I’d like to cut to the meaning of this word heresy, as supplied by wikipedia:

The word “heresy” comes from the Greek αἵρεσις, hairesis (from αἱρέομαι, haireomai, “choose”).

In actual usage then, it indicates either “a choice of beliefs or a faction of believers”. Do read the whole article; it lays a good foundation of this discussion.

If we can accept that heresy simply means choice, then I would propose that any authentic act of faith, or a decision to live within a certain myth, amounts to heresy.

Many of the most powerful such acts of faith have to do not with mere intellectual assent to an idea, but a whole hearted giving over of oneself to another, often without any guarantees. The realm of this sacrifice is generally accepted to be that of spirituality and religion.

Jesus nail from mattstone.blogsAll religious traditions comprise of orthodoxies and the heresies which challenge those orthodoxies. I use the word religious broadly in the Paul Tillich sense – “ultimate concern”. So our ultimate concern may be religion, but it may be science, philosophy, art, or other more problematic endeavours such as commerce or even war. But the heresy will always boil down to one party dissenting an orthodoxy, and paying the price of exclusion. This price may be simple eschewing, but it may involve the loss of livelihood or even life.

Being branded heretical often leads to a wholly new state of being, in which all reliance on an orthodoxy is shedded and a new, authentic faith is born.

One of the most powerful illustrations of this principle comes from the Gospel of Matthew where Simon Peter makes his confession of Christ:

Now when Jesus came into the district of Caesarea Philippi, He was asking His disciples, “Who do people say that the Son of Man is?” And they said, “Some say John the Baptist; and others, Elijah; but still others, Jeremiah, or one of the prophets.” He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?”

Simon Peter answered, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”

And Jesus said to him, “Blessed are you, Simon Barjona, because flesh and blood did not reveal this to you, but My Father who is in heaven.

This for me is an expression of ultimate heresy, being in the context of Roman Occupation where Caesar was considered Lord. In accepting the Lordship of Christ, Simon Peter is expressing his opinion, his heresy, that Christ is Lord.

I do not want to expand on the implications of this here, nor comment on how “Christianity” has hijacked and for the most part been the primary creator of the so-called “heretical”, in its deeply corrupted notions of the truths brought into being through Jesus.

And neither do I want to rubber stamp the heretical as automatically correct, because that would be a short sighted and reactionary view indeed.

I simply want to acknowledge, like Jesus did to Simon, the a blessing brought to us via that which orthodoxy deems heretical.

Choose!

Contributors to the synchroblog:

Published by Nic Paton

Composer of music for film, television and commercials.

19 thoughts on “The blessings of heresy

  1. You heretic!

    Thanks for bringing us back to the heart of the issue, Jesus’ relationship to heretics. I might add the He too was a heretic, hanging out with those who “ought to be” shunned.

    Perhaps, like Simon was, we may also become heretics in our time in faithfulness to Christ and the Spirit…

  2. My understanding is that heresy is a human thing … it describes how we put together systems of belief (or empires) that have absolute rules and then those empire are found wanting by individuals.

    If heresy is indeed of God through his invention of us and then our invention of heresy then he/she was heretical when he was Jesus.

    Otherwise he would be both all encompassing and self-contradictory … like how proving that 1+1 = 3 does not make the universe implode. It simply means that the human system of numbers has flaws.

  3. “Being branded heretical often leads to a wholly new state of being, in which all reliance on an orthodoxy is shedded and a new, authentic faith is born.”

    I think an authentic faith is really the goal if we view authentic faith as authentic relationship. That for me is the primary goal – a real, active, true and honest relationship with Christ. That is an authentic faith. One that doesn’t lean on orthodoxy or theology or philosophy or mainstream ideas, or even heretical ideas; but rather leans upon Christ himself.

    We may find, if we’re honest, that such an idea is – indeed – branded heretical by many simply because an ‘honest relationship’ is too far away from a following of the standard codes and formulas of worship.

    Great post, quite enjoyed it!

  4. Gavin – I don’t think we (as in the synchrobloggers) all consider ourselves heretics. I’m sure you realise this after seeing your imprint on other blogs!

    Could you rephrase your question – I don’t quite understand?

  5. Yes – I see that now. My question doesn’t make too much sense in that light.
    What I was getting at, is that a few years ago I probably considered myself (and was considered) a ‘heretic’ because of what I was pursuing theologically. One of the questions posed to me at the time was what if I took my thinking to it’s logical conclusion. I think this is what I’ve done and it has by no means been an easy journey, although it has been very liberating.
    I guess the question is more of a challenge to those playing on the borders of orthodoxy to say how far are you prepared to go? If you’re going to be a heretic, do it properly 😉
    (I hope that makes more sense)

  6. Aah I see – I think that’s a good question. We have a range of opinion in this syncroblog and those more on the side of orthodoxy seem to want to give the heretics some room but are ultimately tethered by the gravity of their planet.

    The Heretics, and this is by no means typical, are not iconoclasts desiring the downfall of orthodoxy but generally quite inclusive.

    I suppose you are referring to those who claim to be heretical but are not really, is that right?

    OR, (from your position somewhere around the orbit of Pluto), do you see us all as orthodox? [obvious winky]

  7. I guess orthodoxy is a relative term 😉
    My own point of view is that christianity is so engrained in culture (modernism, materialism, etc.) that I’m not sure it can be rescued – kind of like a surgeon trying to remove a primary brain tumor. I think that’s why I’ve abandoned it and found my own journey. The thing is – the view from ‘ somewhere around the orbit of Pluto’ makes some of the things Jesus said make a whole lot more sense.

  8. PS – I like tyour expression “tethered by the gravity of their planet” – it says a lot.

  9. Gavin and Nic-
    “I guess the question is more of a challenge to those playing on the borders of orthodoxy to say how far are you prepared to go?”

    How far am I prepared to go? I must confess that this thought never occurred to me in the beginning. It was only later that I understood that I had ventured considerably far from where I started. I realized going in that I would probably be labeled (I dislike labels so much) a heretic for the things that were becoming evident to me. But, before I knew it, I found myself on the true fringes of orthodoxy. Where I am today certainly isn’t where I thought I might be when I began. After commencing the journey, at some point, I felt like I was being carried along in the current of a swift river, a river of truth in my opinion. There seemed to be little I could do. I learned not to fight the current, but to “go with the flow” as they say. That current has carried me far beyond anything I could imagine. My journey has taken me into eastern thought, mystical exploration (but Jesus could be considered a mystic, an eastern mystic), and other areas to which I never dreamed I would give a passing thought. Sometimes I seriously wonder if the appelation of Christian even applies to me any longer. Have I regretted anything? I have not.

  10. Don, as always I am taken with your story. My favourite part is your lack of regret. I think many a conformist, who’s truth appears very “safe” now will suffer regret at some point in the future when all is made known.

    The problem with the conformity of thinking is that is ultimately diminishes our ability to know and to love. So limited thinking leads to limited praxis and this leads to limited experience.

  11. I suppose another word for heretic is “thinker”.

    I choose the Jesus who has revealed himself to me personally.

    If that makes me a heretic, at least I chose wisely.

  12. Hi Dr T
    Thanks for all your comments. I agree that generally those whom orthodoxy rejects as heretics are exactly that because they choose and think – the very essence of humanness.

Leave a comment