All Mother, its been almost 2 months since my last post. And I confess that it was a bit of a downer: the non-event (for me) of Lausanne 2010.

That shut me up for a bit. But now, the news just got good again…

I’ve been following one of the most inspiring events of recent times online. It’s called “The Advent of Evolutionary Christianity” and curated by Michael Dowd, author of the 2009 book “Thank God for Evolution: How the Marriage of Science and Religion Will Transform Your Life and Our World”.

Many thought leaders who have been very influential for me are taking part: Brian McLaren, Matthew Fox, Richard Rohr, Kevin Kelly, Spencer Burke and Phillip Clayton among them.

10 days in, having heard the first 5 broadcasts (with no previous knowledge of those participants), I am quite amazed at the depth of insight, conceptual inventiveness, and fruitings of Spirit. I cannot recall having such a swathe of new ideas arrive in so short a time. Verily, the debate is moving past post-modernism and Emerging Church; that’s a relief.

Having been enthusiastically part of the Emergent Conversation (post-evangelical wing) for the last 5 years, there have been many strands which I could not reconcile until now. For example Fox’s Creation Spirituality and McLaren’s New Kind of Christianity, or the debates coming from science and those coming from post-modern art, theology, psychology  or philosophy. And yet, the Evolutionary paradigm for Spirituality might just be the hub of this new wheel.

I’m hoping to past often over this season, as I digest the implications of Evolutionary Christianity. If this all sounds too radical a departure here are a few primers from my own musings :

