This is a new rendering (not yet recorded) of the hymn Eventide by William H. Monk (1861). It develops the hymn “Abide with Me” by Henry F. Lyte (1847) from a mood of solace in despair, to a more hopeful panentheistic one as part of an awareness of the essential connectness of all things.

from www.triciamccannonspeaks.comAbide in me, as I abide in you
Home to your Spirit, the Source of what is new
Once I was blind, unconscious and unseeing
Now in you I live and move and have my being

When faceless powers wreck havoc with this life
Forces of destruction loosed by greed and strife
When all around me yields to corruption let me see
You who is unchanging, oh abide in me

Each one has their season before they say farewell
Give me courage Lord at the tolling of that bell
Where death is your sting, or grave your victory?
Sustainer of all living things, abide in me

